Backstage

When fixing the myriad of issues my bug hunters found, I noticed that almost everybody had gone backstage rather than through the fans on their way to D-Kline. Why? I asked them.

Once they’d thought about it, they said backstage had just seemed more exciting and interesting. They had never been backstage before, and the idea of sneaking in and getting to D-Kline from behind seemed far more appealing than through his aug’d up super fans.

This actually really surprised me until I remembered that backstage is completely unknown to most people. It’s seen as a forbidden place where only the great bands themselves and the friends they vet are allowed. People pay vast sums or win as prizes the mythical backstage pass. I hope I haven’t disappointed anyone with my depiction of it! As the son of a small record company producer and professional musician I’ve grown up around stages, and while I haven’t been to any of the ultra famous ones, I found them to all be pretty similar. Dark corridors and instrument cases, with staff doing their jobs. Meeting your favourite band must be exciting, but I’d never considered backstage itself as a draw!

As a result, much like entering the club, I treated it very much as a transition scene, but one thing I really enjoyed writing was the medic. With the possibility of fighting the bouncers beforehand and, if you want to, withdrawing from the fans fight, I decided the backstage entrance was the ideal place to give players the chance to heal. But rather than the JRPG tinkly music inn, or the funkemon centre with nanite syringes, I decided to use the medic to make a whole scene out of it.

The Cyberpunk future is very definitely a genre centred around body modification and augmentation. Prosthetics is no longer about bringing the disabled back to normality, but now about giving the normal further capabilities than they had before. Rubbish at basketball because you’re short? Get legs that are longer and jump higher! Struggle to read huge amounts of reports on your twenty hour shift? Get cyber eyes that can take all the information in through a QR code in just a second! The Cyberpunk future requires people to be more than human to get ahead. When your job interview opponent just got a mathematician upgrade in his brain, how does the ordinary human compete?

With this attitude, is it better to heal, or simply replace a body part that’s hurt? Given that we’re talking about the profit centric healthcare system that dystopian futures undoubtably have, the clear option is to push people to have surgery to improve themselves, buying both the surgery and body part, and sign up to a convenient care plan to make sure it ‘s properly maintained. Combine a hospital and a car dealership and you’ve got the right idea.

And so CyberFunk’s medic has no clue about first aid, since he’s not a medic, he’s a salesman. He looks the part though, and that’s what matters, right?

While we’re back here, let’s talk about the sound tech guy!

Back to Main Page

